Team Singapore golfers’ triumph at the South-East Asian Amateur Golf Team Championship 2019, 59th Putra Cup. Singapore last won the Putra Cup (Team) in 2011, eight years ago in Hong Kong and last individual winner was Gregory Foo who managed to clinch the individual title in 2015 played in Thailand.

This year’s victorious Putra Cup team comprised of SGA National Squad athletes Nicklaus Chiam, Low Wee Jin, Donovan Lee and Justin Kuk. They were led by SGA National Coach Matt Ballard as their team captain. Nicklaus Chiam led the individual event throughout the week and managed a wire-to-wire victory. His stellar performance helped Team Singapore position themselves at the top of the leaderboard beating Thailand by only a 2-shot margin. Singapore led by one-stroke after three days and the lead was exchanged repeatedly throughout the final round. Finally, Low Wee Jin made ac clutch eight-footer par putt on the last to secure Team Singapore’s 6th Putra Cup victory in its 59 years history.

South-East Asian Amateur Golf Team Championship 2019

Host Country: Vietnam, Hanoi

Host Venue: Heron Lake Golf Club

Date: 24th to 27th July 2019

Putra Cup Victories

1967 – Singapore

1993 – Singapore

2006 – Singapore

2008 – Singapore

2011 – Singapore

2019 – Singapore

The 13th Lion City Cup (founded by Singapore) was led by national golfers Hiroshi Tai, Brandon Han and Brayden Lee. Hiroshi finished his final round with a score of 70 (2-under) to finish individual runner-up and led the Lion City Cup to a Team Runner-Up finish.

The coming SEA Games to be played in December 2019 at Luisita Golf Club, Philippines, will see Team Singapore golfers defend their team gold.

Putra Cup (Men): 1st

  1. Nicklaus Chiam
  2. Low Wee Jin
  3. Donovan Lee
  4. Justin Kuk

Lion City Cup (Boys): 2nd


  1. Hiroshi Tai
  2. Brandon Han
  3. Brayden Lee

Santi Cup (Women): 6th


  1. Linette Chua
  2. Yoko Tai
  3. Linnah Loh

Kartini Cup (Girls): 5th


  1. Angel Lim
  2. Shayne Lim


Brief History of the South-East Asian Amateur Golf Team Championship

The ‘Putra Cup’ was launched in 1961 by the late Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al Haj, an avid golfer and who was then the Prime Minister of Malaya. The competition was created to help develop closer relations among South-East Asians through the tournament and to help improve the standard of the game in the region.


The ‘Lion City Cup’ was introduced by Singapore in 2004 and was held in Jakarta, Indonesia to provide a junior team event for boys in the ASEAN region. Following the Lion City Cup’s success, Thailand introduced the ‘Santi Cup’ for women in 2009, and Indonesia introduced the ‘Kartini Cup’ for girls in 2013.


The series of Annual Tournaments has fostered camaraderie and understanding, cemented personal friendships and contributed to the development of closer relations among all who have taken part in it.